Stelvio Elite….a Great Bike Takes You Amazing Places—Nye’s Blog

IMG_8178Road racing this year seems so much different racing on Marin’s Stelvio Elite Road Bike. I haven’t ridden and raced on a better road bike so far in my career. Combined with Visions Metron 40 Wheelset it crushes the steep climbs and glides around corners carrying momentum and shoots you out of them going even faster than before. They are also very attention grabbing with the red Vision logo. When you go fast enough it looks like a red lightning streak.  There are a lot of great things about the Marin Stelvio Elite Road Bike, how great it performs and the great places Cycling takes you.

The Stelvio Elite Road Bike is Fantastic! It’s so light, picking it up feels like you’re picking up a newspaper. I’ve had four road bikes in my life and I can tell this one is tops.  Wimagee do all of our local Road Races, Time Trials and Criteriums on our Marin Stelvio Elite Road Bike and it seems to have a nitch for every one of those races.  In Crits it’s perfect, the bike is very maneuverable, which is just what you want to keep you out of danger and position yourself for the podium.  Since we don’t have a Time Trial specific bike we do all our Time Trial races on our Stelvio Elite Road Bike.  Its great for Time Trialing, the bike is very aerodynamic and stiff, and that benefits me a lot.  In the Road Races, going up the steep climbs is much easier with such a light bike.  Earlier this year Jake was doing a race in the men’s Cat 4 Road Race and they were coming down the finish straight away and someone swerved across the entire peloton and took many people out! Jake made a split second decision to crash into the ditch rather than into the big pile of people in the middle of the road. Once he crossed the finish line he was scratched up a bit but his bike survived undamaged! No damage! That’s a durable bike!

image There are always memorable road races, Crits and TT’s that just stick in your head, sometimes, like if you had a crash or you won your category.  2 years ago I raced in the Valley Of The Sun Stage Race in Phoenix, AZ which was a super cool experience.  That was one of our first really competitive races and I placed 2nd in my age group and that made it a very memorable experience.  In Reno last year we got to do a charitable ride with the Schleck Brothers and Jens Voigt. I had a blast!  It was fun talking with professional racers about their experiences in their races.  We were driving back from one of our races in California and stopped to watch the finish on the Time Trial in The Tour Of California last year.  We even met Peter Sagan!  I asked him what he liked more Road or Mountain Bike Racing?  He said he liked road racing more because there’s more money in it.  That made sense.  The Sea Otter Classic this year would be unforgettable because I met my bicycling hero Nino Schurter! WOW!!! I didn’t think I’d ever get to meet him.

imageOne pretty memorable race was the Nevada City Classic Criterium in Northern California.  The race course was really challenging.  There was a 1/2 mile climb with an average grade of about 8% and a steep decent with two pretty sharp corners at the bottom starting the climb.  Last year I didn’t do as well as I had set a goal for.  This year coming into the race with my new Marin Stelvio Elite Road Bike with Visions Metron 55 Wheelset and Shimano’s Ultrega Drivetrain and Brakes I’m feeling really confident that I’ll achieve my goal!

imageMy thanks to all of my fantastic Sponsors: Marin Bikes, Shimano, Full Speed Ahead, Primal Wear, Yakima Racks, Panaracer Tires, Osprey Packs, MET Helmets, Sidi Shoes, Lauf Forks, Slime, Genuine Innovations, Marzocchi Suspension, Xpedo Pedals, Ergon Bike Ergonomics, White Lightning Lubricants, Light and Motion Bike Lights and Velo Reno Bike Shop because I couldn’t do it without you.  Thank you Mom and Dad for all of the hours you dedicate to me and our team.

Leave a Reply

