Jakes Blog-Having Fun At The Fort- NorCal NICA High School League Begins

image

(Photos from Fun At The Fort 2014)

imageI’m really excited about this year’s first NorCal High School League Season!  Sunday is going to be a blast, I can’t wait to ride against the 90 racers in Junior Varsity Division 1 North (that is only about 1/4 of the total NorCal JV racers) so I can have a new racing experience, meet some new friends and, of course, Have Some Fun!

 

I’m looking forward to this trip. Saturday we will do a cool ride in Santa Cruz and check out the Soquel Demonstration Forest, Braille Loop Trail which has super fun jumps, and fast technical descents. Sunday morning we will arrive at the race in beautiful Fort Ord California, to start my first NorCal High School League MTB Race. Hopefully the rain will get the course wet and packed down, so it will be like riding a paved racetrack, and when we race it we will set course records! imageI’m really looking forward to Fort Ord course which has: quick descents, steep climbs and fast roller coaster like trails (which are the bomb). Even though I have been used to starting on the front row, it will be important for me to learn and experience starting further back in the group.  So that I can learn to pass to get to the front of the race, so I will be able attain starting position in each class I move up through all the way to ithe World Cup Races.   Before races I always seem to get anxious, but I hope this race is going to be like the NorCal State Championship where I met some new friends at the start, which helps me stay calm and confident! imageMy favorite thing about being at a race is after I finish when I’m hanging out, riding around, talking to friends, meeting some new friends and being on the podium representing our wonderful Sponsors and The Yackle Brothers Racing Team!

 

Being at race events and racing is really fun, but what I like most about racing is meeting cool and interesting people, hang out with and talk to like minded people, because that is what I think makes cycling fun: The People You Meet!

 

Leave a Reply

