Star Power Reaching Inward-Nye’s Blog

340This years Nationals was at the Bear Creek Resort in Allentown, PA and I was really looking forward to race.  I believed I had a good chance of winning because I had heard the course was very technical and rocky and that’s what I grew up doing.  On Wednesday, the day before Nationals started USA Cycling decided to make a last minute change to remove the rocky technical sections.  They claimed that it was too dangerous for the juniors, so they rerouted the course onto a ski slope and it finished on a downhill gravel road.  As it would turn out it would claim me as a crash victim as I lost control in the loose gravel.  But, without that crash I would have never learned so much about myself, things that would become permanently glued in my mind. That’s what I am going to tell you about!

At the start, 346I was in 3rd going into the first singletrack. Up until now, on this last lap, I was unable to advance my position.   With only a mile and a half to go I committed to my maximum effort to catch the 2nd place racer.  Nearing the top of the climb I caught a glimpse of him. .  I dug deep and I was closing bit by bit.  As the final descent down the gravel road came I was gaining huge chunks of time and that really motivated me.   Second place was going to be mine.  In the last 300 yards I was in a stand-up sprint and was going at a high speed down a gravel ski road.  I was only 4 bike lengths and I knew second place would be mine.  Then I hit a bump, my hands bounced off my handlebars, my wheel turned then I crashed.  I struggled to get back up!    I looked and my arm was covered with blood and my hip was hurting badly.  183I heard people yelling for me to get back up.  The medics came running up the hill and I knew I had to get up and back on my bike to race to the finish line before they reached me and pulled me from the race.  I did it, 3rd, it wasn’t the 2nd that I knew I had, but I was proud of what I had just done!  366The Medic’s arrived and took charge, they sent me to the ER to get checked out and after 4 long hours of waiting I got 8 stiches below my left elbow. I was fortunate I didn’t have any broken or fractured bones, but the long wait at the hospital meant I missed my hard fought Podium.  That hurt, but I couldn’t have been given a better gift than the lesson I learned about myself!

154I learned a lot about myself.  Like having determination for catching my competitors.  Never settling: always looking for the next higher place untill I win 1st.  Mental toughness: that’s what got me to get back on my bike and finish-3rd place on the National Championship Podium!

With Monique Pua Mata after her 2nd place finish! 365

2 thoughts on “Star Power Reaching Inward-Nye’s Blog

  1. Hi I am so delighted I found your web site, I really found you by accident, while I was
    browsing on Aol for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just
    like to say many thanks for a marvelous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at
    the moment but I have bookmarked it and also included your
    RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

