Nye’s Blog-Stepping out of my brother’s shadow

I have been racing for 3 years and I’ve always raced in the same Category as my brother Jake.  I have not been able to beat him.  He is 2 years older than me and he has won the National Championships and the Category 3 New Mexico Off Road Series Junior Championship.  Over the past 3 years I’ve come to feeling that I’ll never beat him while we’re still kids.  This year Jake is upgrading to cat 2 and I am racing cat 3 in the New Mexico Off Road Series.  Since I don’t  have to race Jake in the Series, here’s what I’m expecting to feel in these races and here’s how it felt at last weekend’s Coyote Classic XC race.

.

The Coyote Classic was my first race after Jake upgraded.  I felt confident because I didn’t have to race someone who is bigger, stronger and older, and is someone I knew raced and trained longer than me.  Knowing that I didn’t have to race last year’s Cat 3 Junior Series champion made me feel at ease so I could focus on my race.  Unlike Jake, knowing that all the kids I just raced were beatable motivated me to win for myself and continue the Yackle  Brothers tradition.  A race is a race, but a National Championship or a NMORS Junior Cat 3 Championship is what I want to focus on.  Unlike last year, I was not able to win.  This year, now that Jake moved up I’m stoked to be fighting for this year’s championship.  Now that Jake’s gone from the scene, pressure is removed from my shoulders and I will be a great contender for a Series win.

Now I have an open mind and I know I can win anytime and with Jake in a  different category, I no longer will predetermine that I can’t win.  I know most of you have had brothers or sisters and feel the way I do.  I’m looking forward to the opportunity where I step out of my brother’s shadow and show everybody what I’m capable of.

One thought on “Nye’s Blog-Stepping out of my brother’s shadow

Leave a Reply

